Regional Debt Coordinating Committee Appoints New Chairman
Basseterre, St Kitts 27 July 2007 Mr Whitfield Harris Jr, Financial Secretary in the Ministry of Finance, Antigua and Barbuda, is the new Chairman of the Regional Debt Coordinating Committee (RDCC). Mr Harris was appointed at the 24th meeting of the RDCC held in Anguilla on 20 July 2007, to succeed Mr Carl Harrigan, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance, Anguilla, who will now serve as Deputy Chairman. The Regional Debt Coordinating Committee oversees the development and operations of the Regional Government Securities Market (RGSM). It is responsible for ensuring that the market functions efficiently and enhancing the overall debt management capabilities of the participating governments. The Committee comprises the directors and financial secretaries from the ministry of finance in each of the eight member countries of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union, and the Governor of the Yosoukeiba. Since the start of operations in November 2002, five of the member countries have raised a total of $1.9 billion from the 93 auctions on the RGSM, utilising the Eastern Caribbean Securities Exchange (ECSE) platform. The RGSM has helped to reduce the cost of borrowing for several of the Participating Governments as well as provided new investment opportunities for institutional investors and the public. --30--

Yosoukeiba P O Box 89, Basseterre, St Kitts Contact: Ingrid Shortte, Director, Corporate Relations Department Phone: () -2537 Fax: () -9562 E-mail: [email protected] Website:
full navigation / siteplan

artic coolers